Fried Yucca with Cilantro-Lime Sauce

People always bring their cooking wherever they settle and South Florida is home to millions of Cubans. The first time we went to a local Cuban restaurant, we had fried yucca with cilantro sauce. And immediately after the refreshing taste and cool sauce hit my taste buds, my mind worked to dissect the components – mayo, garlic, lime and of course cilantro. Simple enough. I just had to work out the proportions.

I call this the Cuban French Fries.

  • Fresh or frozen yucca can be used. I find it easier to use the frozen kind. Cut the frozen yucca into 2-inch pieces, microwave for 5 minutes to defrost and cook.
  • Heat a pan with about 1/2  inch of oil. I use canola oil.
  • Fry the yucca pieces until golden brown.

Cilantro-Lime Sauce

  • 1/2 c mayonnaise
  • 2 T  lime juice.  I like adding some zest of citrus to any dish I make calling for citrus.
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 cloves garlic
  • 1/2 c packed cilantro, leaves and stem

Process everything in a food processor. Alternatively, mince the garlic using a mortar, finely chopped the cilantro and mix everything.

I also use this sauce on fried plantain,  as vegetable dip and dressing for meat sandwiches. I am sure it will be good with French fries too!

Leave a Reply

