Stewed Oxtail With Lily Blossom

I should call this dish, Lost in Translation. I have been cooking this for years, enjoyed by my friends on get-togethers and simply identified as oxtail. I guess no one really cared what the exact name of the dish. For my food blog, I needed to give it a proper name and so I posted the question to my relatives. It racked my memory. The original dish is made with pork or beef knuckles. Then I remember that since the knuckles are very fatty, I started to substitute oxtail. Oxtail can also be fatty but the fat can be cleaned and trimmed before cooking. If after  cooking I still find it to have a lot of fat, I just refrigerate it and then remove the solidified fat.

Ingredients:

  • 2 lb oxtail, remove all visible fat
  • 1 cup  of dried lily blossoms, soak in water. This is available in Asian food store.
  • 12 pieces of dried shiitake mushrooms,soak in water until hydrated. Remove the stems. This is available in Asian food store.
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1/2 clove garlic
  • 1 T oil
  • 3 T brown sugar
  • 2 T thick soy sauce  or 3 T soy sauce
  • 1 T whole pepper corns
  • 2 dried bay leaf

Cook as follows:

  • In a deep saute pan, heat the oil. Then add the garlic and saute until slightly brown. Add the bay leaf, peppercorns and onion. Stir to mix.
  • Add the oxtail, saute the meat, stirring often to avoid sticking at the bottom of the pan,
  • Add  mushrooms, 1 cup of water, soy sauce, sugar and lily blossoms. Cover  but check and stir frequently.
  • Add 1/4 cup of water at a time until the meat is tender and thoroughly sauteed. About 45-60 minutes.  I always remember my grandmother saying that a good saute makes the meat tastier. This can also be cooked in a pressure cooker. What I don’t like about it is I could never make the meat just right, most of the time it’s overdone and the meat falls off the bone.

Serve with steamed rice.

One thought on “Stewed Oxtail With Lily Blossom

Leave a Reply

