Bermuda Rum Cake

Rum Cake
We welcome the year 2013 with a cake to toast and eat!

It was a last-minute plan to bake rum cakes. I needed a dessert to bring to a neighbor’s dinner and another one to give as a present to a niece’s New Year countdown party.   I looked at my cookbooks and searched the Web for  a recipe calling for ingredients available in my pantry. There are lots of posts calling for yellow cake mix, I don’t keep cake mixes but I always have different kinds of flour. I ended up using a basic pound cake recipe with a little sugar tweaking. I used the dark Goslings Black Seal Rum we purchased when we cruised to Bermuda.  I thought of making the Bermuda Rum  Swizzle Cake but of course, I don’t have all the ingredients required.

So here  is the list of the ingredients for my rum cake.

  • 1 cup chopped walnuts, soak in 1/4 cup of rum
  • 3 cups self-rising flour.
  • 1 1/2 cup sugar. Most of the recipes I found call for 2 cups.
  • 1 tsp baking powder. If using all-purpose flour, add 2 tsp of baking powder.
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 2 sticks of butter, room temperature or defrost in microwave for 2 minutes.
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream plus 1/4 cup water. The recipe usually calls for 1/2 cup milk but there is left over heavy cream in the refrigerator that I do not want to waste.
  • 1/2 cup rum

Procedure:

  • Pre-heat the oven to  325 degrees.
  • Oil and flour a bundt pan. Spread the nuts on the bottom.
  • Sift together flour, sugar, baking powder and salt.
  • Beat the butter until creamy,
  • Add the eggs, milk and rum and continue beating until smooth.
  • Put the mixer on slow. Add the dry ingredients slowly and mix until the batter is smooth.
  • Pour into the pan.
  • Bake for 50-60 minutes or test with a cake tester.

Fifteen minutes before the cake is done, make the glaze.

Heat until sugar is dissolved, about 2 minutes. The glaze usually has butter but I chose to skip the butter. I think 1 cup of butter on the cake is more than enough to make it moist.

  • 3/4  cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup water

Remove from heat and add 1/2 cup of rum. Mix.

As soon as the cake is done, no need to cool:

  • Loosen the sides of the cake and invert the hot cake pan into a serving plate carefully.
  • Using a fork, carefully prick all around the cake.
  • Spoon the rum syrup on top and sides of the warm cake. Brush the cake with the syrup dripping on the bottom of the plate.

I think that the warm cake absorbs the warm syrup evenly. As the cake cools, the syrup forms a thin layer of dry glaze on top which firms the cake making it easy to pack.

Decorate with your favorite glazed fruits like maraschino cherries or nuts.

What I used is walnuts roasted and glazed with Rose Uozo. I accidentally broke the bottle of my rose uozo and of course, I have to find a use for it. This is the perfect time. It gave the nuts a nice pink haze with sweet floral taste.

Happy New Year!

Rum Cake

Leave a Reply

