Sweet Potato Tops Salad

I am loving South Florida where we now live. I get to plant all the tropical fruits and vegetables and flowers I want, limited only by the quarter acre lot size of our home. I find it so much easier to grow anything on this year-round sub-tropical climate.  A few months ago, I buried in the ground a sweet onion which started to sprout, I just pulled five big onions from that single onion.  I also planted sweet potato from  slips I grew from a store-bought potato.  The young tips of the stems are the ones referred to as tops which has young and tender leaves.  This is a widely used vegetable in the Philippines. I am constantly harvesting the tops of  my sweet potato plant. I use it pretty much  in any dish that calls for spinach. I’d like to say spinach can be substituted to this salad but the texture would be totally different. The yellow tomato is an heirloom kind, Hawaiian Pineapple, and some purple yard long beans, both are grown in the garden. I also added some pickled garlic.

Heirloom Tomato plant: HAwaiian Pineapple

Heirloom Tomato plant: HAwaiian Pineapple

IMG_2330

Tomato and purple yard long beans harvested from the garden.                                                                                             The little green fruits are called calamondin, they are used like lemons.

IMG_1558

Meyer Lemon plant.

IMG_1012

Sweet Potato planted on a pot.

The tops need to be blanched with a little salt. The dressing is simply lemon juice, picked from my Meyer Lemon plant, a little olive oil, salt and pepper. In the Philippines, this is a good accompaniment to fried fish.

IMG_2383

Sweet potatoes harvested from the plant. Recipe would be for another time.

IMG_0161

Sweet Potato Tops Salad with Tomato and Pickled Garlic.

Leave a Reply

