Baked Brie In Brioche

IMG_0558

I just love Baked Brie and I make it every chance I have, which is mostly when we have company. Instead of  the traditional puff pastry, this time I used a brioche dough.  I also used every kind of dried fruits available in the  pantry. By the reaction of our guests, I’d say this is a hit.

I followed Julia Child’s recipe from a book Baking With Julia, Brie in Brioche. The recipe used baked onions with the Brie. Instead of onions I substituted my favorite nuts and dried fruit filling.

The Brioche

  • 1 T   active dry yeast. I used SAF instant yeast as suggested. I use the instant yeast in all my baking. I love it that  I can skip the proofing process.
  • 3 T non-fat dry milk
  • 3 T sugar
  • 1 1/2 t salt
  • 3  1/4 c all-purpose flour
  • 2 sticks of unsalted butter
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1/3 c water
  • for the egg wash, use 1 large eqq
  • 1 round  wheel ripe Brie

The Nuts and Dried Fruits: Mix all and  ensure  each bit of nuts and fruits are well coated with maple syrup.

  • 1 c chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 c dried cranberries
  • 1/2 c chopped dates
  • 1/2 c chopped dried figs
  • 1/2 c maple syrup

Chilling the Dough

  • Mix and knead the dough and let rise for 1 hour. Put in a plastic bag and store in the refrigerator.
  • The recipe suggested to start the brioche at least 24 hours or up to 36 hours ahead. Well, I didn’t have the luxury of time as I just decided to make this last night.  I only chilled for a total of 12 hours.
  • Take the dough from the refrigerator at least 4 hours before you want to serve it. The resulting dough felt buttery so I also skipped buttering the  spring form pan.

Assembling the Pastry

  • Turn the cold brioche dough on to a lightly floured surface.
  • Roll into a cylinder and cut into 3 parts .
  • Roll a piece into a 12-inch diameter
  • Fit the dough into the bottom of the pan covering the sides about 1 inch around
  • Put the Brie in the middle and pour the nut mixture on top and sides of the cheese. Leave enough room around for the top and bottom dough to connect
  • Roll the second dough  12-inch diameter and cover the cheese. Pinch around to connect to the bottom dough
  • Roll the remaining dough into 30 by 3 inches rectangular strip. Make 2 cuts along the length trying not to separate the top end.
  • Braid the dough.
  • Put the braid around the  pan.
  • Let it rise at room temperature for  1 hour

Baking the Brioche

  • Pre-heat the oven to 425F.
  • Bake the brioche for  15 minutes, then lower the temperature to  375F and bake for another 30 minutes.
  • Tent it with a foil to prevent it from browning too fast.
  • Cool for 30 minutes before serving.

IMG_0553

IMG_0554IMG_0555IMG_0556

IMG_0557

The braids didn’t come out as good as it should be but the brioche itself came out good despite the short chilling period. I will definitely try the 24-hour chilling according to the recipe and  see if it does make a big difference.

I hope you enjoy it as much as my guests did on our 4th of July BBQ held on the 3rd!

IMG_0565

One thought on “Baked Brie In Brioche

Leave a Reply

